Understand Your Rights When Getting Pulled Over in New Jersey Driving while intoxicated is illegal in all states, including New Jersey. A police … Learn More about What to Do If You Get Pulled Over by the Police in New Jersey
Your Lawyer’s Experience Matters
How Our Law Firm Can Assist With Your DWI Case
Being charged with a DWI can be a stressful experience that leaves you feeling unsure of what you should do in the days and weeks following. Over 1.2 million Americans were arrested in 2011 for driving under the influence, and police are continuing to crack down more and more. Given the fact that there are so many variables at play, you may want to consider requesting the services of an attorney who handles DWI cases and who can protect your rights.
Understanding DWI Offense Elements in New Jersey The state of New Jersey outlines the penalties and standards used for punishing motorists suspected … Learn More about What You Should Know About DWI Laws in New Jersey
How to Identify If You're Too Drunk to Drive Summary: Estimating your blood alcohol content in situations where you're drinking and considering … Learn More about How to Identify If You’re Too Drunk to Drive
Your Rights When Interacting With Police at a DWI Stop Summary: New Jersey law requires your compliance during a traffic stop, but you still have … Learn More about Interacting with Police
Denis F. Driscoll is a partner with Inglesino, Webster, Wyciskala & Taylor, LLC, and head of the Litigation Department. As a trial lawyer, he … Learn More about About Denis Driscol, Esq.
Covering DWI Offense Elements for Motorists in New Jersey Summary: The state of New Jersey outlines the penalties and standards used for punishing … Learn More about Understanding DWI Offense Elements in New Jersey
What You Should Know About DWI Laws in New Jersey
There are three primary types of DWI charges that you should be aware of, all of which center around your age and the amount of alcohol that is in your blood. If you’re an adult, you will be charged with driving while intoxicated when your blood alcohol content is measured at .08 percent or higher. If you’re under 21 years of age, the BAC limit is .01 percent, which means that you could be charged with a DWI after you’ve consumed only a small amount of alcohol.
If your BAC is at .10 percent or higher when you’re pulled over, you will be charged with an aggravated DWI, which is an offense that comes with enhanced penalties. Other factors like there being minors in your vehicle at the time of the incident or if you’re driving with a suspended license can also lead to an aggravated DWI charge. Another reason why you might be charged with an aggravated DWI is if you are a repeat offender. In these types of high-stakes situations, a DWI attorney can be particularly beneficial at guiding you through your case.
Penalties Associated With Driving While Intoxicated
There is an array of penalties associated with driving while intoxicated, and these penalties are more severe for second and third offenses. Any DWI charge will automatically lead to higher insurance rates whether it’s your first offense or your third offense. One common penalty for a DWI charge is the suspension or revocation of your license, which can extend from three months to 10 years depending on whether the offense is your first or your third. Some form of mandatory alcohol education and treatment is almost always required as well. While an ignition interlock device may not be placed in your vehicle following your first DWI, it is mandatory for a second or third offense.
When you are represented by an attorney, the goal will be to assist you with every facet of your case. Your lawyer will strive to reduce the charges against you and gather any evidence on your behalf. A DWI charge can be difficult to deal with on your own, and this is especially true if you’re being charged with an aggravated DWI. These particular charges typically come with higher penalties, which is why it’s in your best interest to determine whether your aggravated DWI can be reduced to a standard DWI. Some of the types of penalties that can be allotted to you with an aggravated DWI charge include:
-A suspended sentence
How Our Lawyer Can Help Represent Your Case
Denis F. Driscoll is an experienced and highly qualified DWI lawyer. He is a member of the New Jersey State Bar Association and the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey as well as the firm of Inglesino, Webster, Wyciskala & Taylor, LLC. Mr. Driscoll can represent DWI cases in the state of New Jersey and has a firm understanding of all laws associated with driving while intoxicated. When you are being charged with a DWI, you will have a substantial amount of paperwork to fill out along with other important things to do in preparation for your court date. Denis F. Driscoll can provide assistance for these tasks and help you determine what your next steps should be.
Whether you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey or you simply have questions about DWI law in the state, please contact us today so that we can help you find the answers you’re looking for.
Denis, Thank you so much, I received my check on Saturday morning. I really want to thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for your help. From the very beginning you you instilled a level of confidence and trust in me that definitely lifted any concerns I had. Your professional conduct and expediency of handling my case was just as expected and very much appreciated. Thank you again and wishing you Happy Holidays. In Gratitude, Jill
Highly professional, dedicated attorney, would definitely recommend him to anyone in need of top notch legal services!
I used attorney Driscoll to help me with my legal troubles. Long story short, he did what was expected of hiring a premium attorney. He was very astute and used great logic to defend my case to the best it could have been. Upon leaving the courtroom, there were people asking for his business card and contemplating re-hiring the attorney they just saw.